Browse by Subject
Contact Information

Northern Research Station
One Gifford Pinchot Drive
Madison, WI 53726
(608) 231-9318
(608) 231-9544 TTY/TDD

You are here: NRS Home / Research Programs / NIACS / People
Northern Institute of Applied Climate Science



Name Title
Christopher Swanston NIACS Director
Maria Janowiak NIACS Deputy Director
Hannah Abbotts Content Manager, Climate Change Resource Center
Bryce Adams Post-doctoral researcher
Leslie Brandt
Climate Change Specialist
Stephen Handler Climate Change Specialist
Katherine A. Heckman Research Biologist
Louis Iverson Landscape Ecologist
Shawn Klomparens Webmaster, Climate Change Resource Center, USDA Climate Hubs
Patricia Leopold Climate Change Outreach Specialist
Kailey Marcinkowski Climate Change Outreach Specialist
Stephen Matthews Ecologist
Lucas Nave Research Scientist
Todd Ontl USDA Northern Forests Climate Hub Fellow
Matthew Peters Ecologist
Courtney Peterson Research Associate, Colorado State University
Anantha Prasad Research Ecologist
Kristen Schmitt Climate Change Outreach Specialist
(Patricia) Danielle Shannon Climate Change Specialist
Paula Zermeño Manager, Carbon, Water and Soils Research Lab


Name Title
Knute Nadelhoffer Professor, Director of the Biological Station
University of Michigan
Linda Nagel Department Head and Professor, Forest and Rangeland Stewardship, Colorado State University


Steering Committee

Name Title
Tony Ferguson Director, Northern Research Station
David Reed Vice President for Research, Michigan Technological University
Brian Buhr Dean, College of Food, Agricultural, and Natural Resource Sciences, University of Minnesota
Jad Daley President and CEO, American Forests
Jonathan Gilbert Director, Biological Sciences Division, Great Lakes Indian Fish & Wildlife Commission
Bob Lueckel Acting Regional Forester, Eastern Region, Northeastern Area State and Private Forestry
Nancy Mathews Dean, Rubenstein School of Environment and Natural Resources, University of Vermont
Darren Miller Vice President, Forestry Programs, National Council for Air and Stream Improvement

Programmatic Contacts

Name Title
Rob Witmer Supervisory Forester, Northeastern Area State & Private Forestry
Marcella Windmuller-Campione Assistant Professor of Silviculture, Department of Forest Resources, College of Food, Agricultural and Natural Resource Sciences , University of Minnesota
Rob Croll Climate Change Program Coordinator, Great Lakes Indian Fish & Wildlife Commission
Anthony D’Amato Associate Professor of Silviculture and Applied Forest Ecology, Rubenstein School of Environment and Natural Resources, University of Vermont
Rebecca Turner Chief Strategy Officer, American Forests
Andrew Storer Dean, School of Forest Resources and Environmental Science, Michigan Technological University
Kevin Solarik Directory of Forestry Research, Canada and Northeastern/Northcentral U.S., National Council for Air and Stream Improvement
Lon Yeary Acting Associate Deputy Chief, Northern Research Station

Last Modified: September 6, 2019